African Development Bank Country Policy and Institutional Assessments


The Country Policy and Institutional Assessment (CPIA) is a system designed, by African Development Bank (ADB), to assess the quality of a country’s present policy and institutional framework, in terms of how conducive such a framework is to ensuring the efficient utilization of scarce development resources in the pursuit of sustainable and poverty reducing development in the Regional Member Countries (RMCs).

Main Points

The ADB uses the CPIA indicators to allocate concessional loans. 2010 CPIA criteria are grouped into three clusters:

Economic Management

  • Macroeconomic Management
  • Fiscal Policy
  • Debt Policy

Structural Policies

  • Policies and Institutions for Economic Cooperation,
  • Regional Integration & Trade Financial Sector
  • Business Regulatory Environment

Policies for Social Inclusion/Equity

  • Social Protection and Labour
  • Environmental Policies and Regulations
Governance Rating: Public Sector Management and Institutions
  • Property Rights and Rule-based Governance
  • Quality of Budgetary and Financial Management
  • Efficiency of Revenue Mobilization
  • Quality of Public Administration
Transparency, Accountability, and Corruption in the Public Sector

The dataset covers all ADB client countries.

Access to database:

Source: The 2010 Country Policy and Institutional Assessments, African Development Bank Group

Page created by: Madina Junussova and last modified by Ian Clark on 13 December 2015.